publications

Euro-Med sub-national governments in the fight against climate change:

Framework for action, example of Région SUD Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur and opportunities for cooperation at the Mediterranean level

Presentation

INSTITUT DE LA MEDITERRANEE (IM) and its partners, FEMISE and the association ENERGIES2050, are glad to announce the publication of the report “Euro-Med sub-national governments in the fight against climate change: Framework for action, example of Région SUD Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur and opportunities for cooperation at the Mediterranean level “.

This report is articulated around three chapters and offers a vision of the initiatives and dynamics undertaken by Région SUD (France) in the fight against climate change. It also enters within the global framework of Euro-Mediterranean cooperation.
The first chapter deals with the “Action framework of Europe’s Mediterranean territories in the face of climate change”. It underlines that subnational governments face many challenges for implementing an ambitious and integrated climate action. Issues of finance access, capacity to design strategies adapted to territorial concerns, building on reliable local data, monitoring and reporting (MRV) and the need for support and coordination from higher levels of governance are crucial.

The second chapter deals with “The territorial response to climate issues in the Mediterranean: the example of Région SUD”. The report notes that the action of local authorities, in France in general and in the Région SUD in particular, benefits from an incentive and coherent legal framework supported by regional information systems. In accordance with policies adopted at the national level, the local authorities of Région SUD engaged in the implementation of integrated climate strategies in the form of PCET (Climate Territorial Energy Plans – Plans Climat Energie Territoriaux) and then PCAET (Climate Air Energy Territorial Plans – Plan Climat Air Energie Territoire). Beyond this process, there is a high number of initiatives aimed in particular at better involving all actors in climate action. However, the transparency on the results of these actions remains relatively weak.
The third chapter covers the theme of “Cooperations, territories and climate at the scale of the Mediterranean basin and beyond” and offers some reflections of action towards the future. A first reflection consists on placing the climate / territory issue at the center of the Euro-Mediterranean cooperation strategy. Région SUD could bring valuable feedbacks to this extent. In addition, a platform at the service of territories in this area offering the possibility to capitalize, to exchange, to train, to allow a dialogue with the world of regional statistics and to offer technical assistance could be supported at the regional level, in particular through emerging initiatives such as the Mediterranean Climate House. The growing involvement of the private sector could also generate relevant initiatives. Proposals for action on Euro-Mediterranean cooperation could include the creation of an “ERASMUS of social and environmental entrepreneurship” and a Mediterranean Initiative for Social and Environmental Finance, aligning business creation and capital flows with the objectives of reducing local social and environmental externalities.

This report takes its roots in IM’s willingness to mobilize its network and partners over a shared commitment to climate issues. It also enters within the frame of the consistent work on climate and territorial issues done for years by ENERGIES 2050, particularly in the context of the development and implementation of low-carbon territorial strategies. Considering the follow up given to the international event “Mediterranean of the Future”, organized by Région SUD (21 November 2017, in Marseille), IM, FEMISE and ENERGIES 2050 believe in the unifying capacity of the territory on these issues. This report also builds on the momentum generated by the workshop “Climate change in a Mediterranean in transition” (May 15, 2018, Marseille, co-organized with the Departmental Council of Bouches-du-Rhône), which allowed to illustrate territorial solutions to climate challenges in the Euro-Mediterranean region. The effective support of the Departmental Council of Bouches-du-Rhône reinforced a real multi-stakeholder movement that has also strengthened this report. Exchanges with the City of Marseille, particularly on the issues of sustainable development and engineering of local governance, were also valuable.

logo-energies-2050_300x300_202k-copie
08_INSTITUT_MED
07_FEMISE

[real3dflipbook id=”22″]

Download (French Version)

association ENERGIES 2050 Building with us the opportunities of tomorrow
Send

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

X

publications

Les gouvernements infranationaux Euro-Med dans la lutte contre le changement climatique :

Cadre d’action, exemple de la Région SUD Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur et opportunités de coopération à l’échelle méditerranéenne

Présentation

L’association INSTITUT DE LA MEDITERRANEE (IM) et ses partenaires, le FEMISE et l’association ENERGIES 2050, annoncent la publication du rapport « Les gouvernements infranationaux Euro-Med dans la lutte contre le changement climatique : Cadre d’action, exemple de la Région SUD Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur et opportunités de coopération à l’échelle méditerranéenne ».

Ce rapport s’articule en trois chapitres et propose une photographie des initiatives et dynamiques en cours au niveau de la Région SUD Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur dans la lutte contre le changement climatique. Il s’inscrit également dans le cadre plus large de la coopération euro-méditerranéenne.

Le premier chapitre traite du « Cadre de l’action des territoires méditerranéens d’Europe face aux changements climatiques ». Il souligne que les gouvernements infranationaux font face à de nombreux défis pour mettre en œuvre une action climat ambitieuse et intégrée. Les questions d’accès au financement, de capacités à concevoir des stratégies adaptées aux enjeux territoriaux, en s’appuyant sur des données locales, du suivi des actions (MRV) et du support et cadrage des échelons supérieurs de gouvernance sont notamment cruciales.

Le deuxième chapitre traite de la « Réponse territoriale aux enjeux climatiques en Méditerranée : l’exemple de la région SUD ». Le rapport observe que l’action des collectivités, en France en général et en Région SUD en particulier, bénéficie d’un cadre légal incitatif et cohérent, qui est soutenu par des dispositifs d’information régionaux très riches. En conformité avec les politiques adoptées au niveau national, les collectivités de la Région SUD se sont engagées dans la mise en place de PCET (Plan Climat Energie Territorial) puis de PCAET (Plan Climat Air Energie Territoire). Au-delà de ce processus, il existe un foisonnement d’initiatives visant notamment à mieux impliquer l’ensemble des acteurs dans l’action climatique. Cependant, la transparence des résultats de ces actions reste encore relativement faible.

Le troisième chapitre porte sur le thème des « Coopérations, territoires et climat à l’échelle du bassin méditerranéen et au-delà » et offre de nombreuses pistes de réflexion pour le futur. L’une des premières réflexions consiste à placer la question climat/territoire au centre de la stratégie de coopération Euro-Méditerranéenne. La Région SUD Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur pourrait apporter ici de précieux retours d’expériences. Par ailleurs, une plateforme au service des territoires, offrant la possibilité de capitaliser, d’échanger, de former, de permettre un dialogue avec le monde de la statistique régionale et d’offrir une assistance technique, pourrait être soutenue au niveau régional, notamment à travers des initiatives naissantes telles que la Maison Méditerranéenne du Climat. L’implication croissante du secteur privé pourrait également générer des initiatives pertinentes. Les propositions d’actions à entreprendre sur le plan de la coopération euro-méditerranéenne pourraient inclure la création d’un « ERASMUS de l’entreprenariat social et environnemental » et d’une Initiative Méditerranéenne de Financement Social et Environnemental intégrant la création d’entreprises et les flux de capitaux avec des objectifs sociaux et environnementaux.

Ce rapport trouve sa genèse dans la volonté de l’IM de mobiliser son réseau et ses partenaires autour des questions climatiques. Il s’inscrit également dans les suites du travail de fonds sur les questions climat et territoires portées depuis des années par l’association ENERGIES 2050 notamment dans le cadre de l’élaboration et de la mise en œuvre des stratégies territoriales bas carbone. Au regard des suites données à l’évènement international « Méditerranée du futur », organisé par la Région SUD Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur le 21 novembre 2017 à Marseille, l’IM, le FEMISE et ENERGIES 2050 croient en la capacité fédératrice du territoire sur ces questions. Ce rapport s’appuie également sur la dynamique générée par l’atelier « Changement climatique dans une Méditerranée en transition » (15 mai 2018, à Marseille, co-organisé avec le Conseil Départemental des Bouches-du-Rhône), qui a permis d’illustrer des solutions territoriales pour les défis climatiques dans la région euro-méditerranéenne. Le soutien effectif du Conseil Départemental des Bouches-du-Rhône a conforté un véritable mouvement multi-acteurs qui n’a fait que renforcer ce rapport. Les échanges avec les services de la Ville de Marseille, notamment sur les questions de développement durable et d’ingénierie de la gouvernance locale, ont de même été précieux.

logo-energies-2050_300x300_202k-copie
08_INSTITUT_MED
07_FEMISE

Télécharger

association ENERGIES 2050 Building with us the opportunities of tomorrow
Envoyer
X