ethiCarbon®

ethiCarbon® is an international solidarity-based initiative...


launched by ENERGIES 2050 in 2011. It enables citizens, associations, businesses, cities and other actors to assess and then to offset their greenhouse gas emissions, through the financing of ethical and solidarity projects in vulnerable countries. ethiCarbon® thus contributes to raise global awareness around the issue of climate change and sustainable development while giving everyone the means to act in a fully transparent manner.
 

ethiCarbon®’s objectives are thus twofold.

First, it aims to raise knowledge among all users, regardless of their country of origin and situation, about the impacts of their activities on the climate system, and by this mean encourage the adoption of low-carbon, sober in resources, production and consumption patterns. Then, ethiCarbon® aims to support the financing of projects with high added value in vulnerable communities and countries, through mechanisms linked to solidarity and carbon compensation and finance.
 

 
 

ethiCarbon® initiative is therefore based on an innovative approach that gives just as much importance to:

  • the reduction of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions;
  • adaptation actions that strengthen resilience of vulnerable communities and territories facing the current and future consequences of climate change;
  • the implementation of new development model through concrete sustainable development projects as well as societal and responsible engagement, including training, awareness-raising and capacity building activities.
energies2050

Principles of operation

ethiCarbon® ® is based on participatory financing, each contribution being proportional to the carbon footprint of the "contributor". The funds allocated to this initiative are managed in all transparency by ENERGIES 2050, a French association experienced in the implementation of local and international projects. ethiCarbon®’s approach builds on the notion of "dematerialized carbon unit" that gives a modular value to carbon with regards to its economic, social, environmental and ethical costs. The entire self-assessment chain, from collection to implementation of projects or activities, is transparent and meets international Measurement, Reporting and Verification (MRV) standards.
lafermeBambous

ethiCarbon® projects

...were selected for their high added value on the socio-economic and environmental (adaptation and/or mitigation) aspects. They are implemented in partnership with vulnerable populations facing the realities of climate change, jointly by local organizations and ENERGIES 2050, which ensures the proper management and transparency of the funds collected. All projects meet international transparency criteria, which allows the association, when relevant, to issue certified carbon credits

See the projects

 

Use ethiCarbon®:

three simple steps

To participate ethiCarbon®, simply follow these three simple steps:
 

1Calculate your carbon footprint

We have selected for you a set of carbon calculators, accompanied by some explanations, which will allow you to assess the carbon impact associated with your lifestyle and consumption. These are generic, non-commercial tools that all help to evaluate your greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions.

Assess your carbon footprint

Learn more about carbon footprints and climate change

2Evaluate the amount of your contribution to ethiCarbon®

Enter the result of your carbon footprint calculation in the dedicated space. The amount of your contribution to the ethiCarbon® initiative is calculated directly. The carbon price used here is voluntarily higher than that of the markets in order to be able to support projects with high social and environmental value, beyond the climate issue and for communities or situations of high vulnerability.

Evaluate your contribution

3Offset your emissions by financing solidarity-based development, adaptation and mitigation projects

Once you have determined the amount of your contribution (you can of course adjust this amount according to your resources, your possibilities or your desires), you have two options:

  • You can make a direct donation to the ethiCarbon® initiative. This grant will be used exclusively in the implementation of the initiative's projects. Only a fixed contribution of 5% of the amount will be used to fund the running costs of the initiative. Each donor will receive a certificate, attesting to its donation. As ENERGIES 2050 is an association whose registered office is in France, and which is a non-profit working strictly in the general interest, taxpayers (individuals and organisations) in France or Europe can benefit from a tax reduction under French or European rules. For example, the donation will be deductible from taxes to up to 66% for citizens residing in France
  • Make a direct donation to the initiative

    OR

  • You can offset your emissions by purchasing carbon credits on official markets on a voluntary basis, up to the value of your footprint. For this purpose, we have selected for you a set of projects, in which ENERGIES 2050 does not intervene but which generate certified credits with a high social and environmental value. Part of your contribution to ethiCarbon® will be used to purchase these credits and to finance the associated project; you will receive, in return, a certificate of purchase of these credits. The rest of your contribution is then dedicated to the financing of ethiCarbon® projects (excluding 5% of the initiative's operating costs). Please note that in accordance with the rules related to the purchase of carbon credits, your contribution is not deductible from taxes.
  • Buy carbon credits on the official markets

    And then what?

    ENERGIES 2050 guarantees the full use of funds collected towards the implementation of projects listed under the "Projects Portfolio" tab.

    Reports of activities will be regularly shared with contributors for transparency and monitoring and evaluation of performance of the actions carried out.

    X

ethiCarbon®

ethiCarbon® est une initiative citoyenne de solidarité internationale...


initiée par l’association ENERGIES 2050 en 2011 permettant à chacun, citoyen, association, entreprise, ville ou autres d’évaluer puis de compenser ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre en participant au financement de projets éthiques et solidaires dans les pays les plus vulnérables au changement climatique. ethiCarbon® participe à la prise de conscience globale autour de la problématique de la lutte contre les changements climatiques et aux enjeux d’un développement soutenable et solidaire tout en donnant à chacun les moyens d’agir concrètement en totale transparence.
 

ethiCarbon® répond d’un double objectif

Il s’agit, en premier lieu, de sensibiliser l’ensemble des utilisateurs, quels que soient leurs pays d’origine et leur situation, aux impacts de nos activités sur le climat et de les inviter à adopter des modes de production et de consommation plus sobres en carbone et en ressources naturelles. ethiCarbon® vise également à soutenir le financement de projets ayant une forte valeur ajoutée dans les communautés et les pays les plus vulnérables, à travers des mécanismes liés à la solidarité et à la compensation et la finance carbone.
 

 
 

L’initiative ethiCarbon® s’appuie sur une démarche inédite qui donne autant d’importance :

  • à la réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) ;
  • aux actions d’adaptation qui visent à renforcer la résilience des communautés et territoires vulnérables confrontées aux effets actuels et à venir du changement climatique ;
  • à la mise en place de nouveaux modèles de développement au travers des projets concrets de solidarité et de développement socioéconomique durable, et d’une implication sociétale et responsable y compris à travers la formation, la sensibilisation et le renforcement des capacités.
  • cop22ethiCarbon

    Principe de fonctionnement

    ethiCarbon® repose sur un financement participatif proportionnel à l'empreinte carbone de chaque « contributeur ». Les fonds versés à cette initiative sont gérés de manière transparente par ENERGIES 2050, une association française expérimentée dans la mise en œuvre de projets locaux et internationaux. ethiCarbon® s’appuie sur une démarche inédite associée à la notion d’« unité carbone dématérialisée » qui donne une valeur modulable au carbone au regard de sa performance économique, sociale, environnementale et éthique. L’ensemble de la chaîne de l’auto-évaluation, de la collecte à la mise en œuvre de projets ou d’activités est transparent et répond aux critères internationaux de Mesure, Notification et Vérification (MNV).
    lafermeBambous

    Les projets ethiCarbon®

    ...ont été sélectionnés au regard de leur forte valeur ajoutée socioéconomique et environnementale, qu’il s’agisse d'adaptation et/ou d'atténuation. Ils sont mis en œuvre en partenariat avec des populations vulnérables confrontées aux réalités des changements climatiques, conjointement par des organisations locales et par ENERGIES 2050 qui s'assure notamment de la bonne gestion et de la transparence des fonds collectés. L’ensemble des projets répond aux critères internationaux de transparence ce qui permet à l’association, le cas échéant, de délivrer des crédits carbones certifiés.

    Voir les projets

     

    Utiliser ethiCarbon®

    3 étapes simples

    Pour participer à l’initiative ethiCarbon®, il vous suffit de suivre ces trois étapes simples :
     

    1Evaluez votre empreinte carbone

    Nous avons sélectionné pour vous un ensemble de calculateurs carbone qui vous permettront d’évaluer l’impact « carbone » associé votre mode de vie et de consommation. Ces calculateurs sont accompagnés d’explications qui vous permettront de les utiliser plus facilement. Il s’agit d’outils génériques sans aucune vocation commerciale qui permettent tous d’évaluer vos émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES).

    Évaluez votre empreinte carbone

    En savoir plus sur l'empreinte carbone et le climat

    2Estimez le montant de votre contribution, à hauteur de votre empreinte carbone

    Insérez dans l’espace dédié le résultat du calcul de votre empreinte carbone. Le montant de votre contribution à l’initiative ethiCarbon® est calculé directement. Le prix du carbone utilisé ici est volontairement supérieur à ceux des marchés afin de pouvoir soutenir des projets à forte valeur sociale et environnementale, au-delà de la question climatique pour des communautés ou des situations de forte vulnérabilité.

    Évaluez votre empreinte carbone

    3Compensez vos émissions et financez des projets de développement, d'adaptation et d'atténuation

    Une fois déterminé le montant de votre contribution (vous pouvez bien entendu moduler ce montant en fonction de vos ressources, de vos possibilités ou de vos envies), deux possibilités s’offrent à vous :

  • Vous pouvez faire un don direct à l’initiative ethiCarbon®. Ce don sera exclusivement utilisé dans la mise en œuvre des projets de l’initiative. Seule une participation fixe de 5% du montant sera utilisée pour participer aux frais de fonctionnement de l’initiative. Chaque donateur recevra un certificat, attestant de son don. Comme ENERGIES 2050 est une association dont le siège social se trouve en France, et qui est sans but lucratif travaille strictement dans l’intérêt général, les personnes et organismes imposables en France ou en Europe peuvent bénéficier d’une réduction fiscale au regard des règles françaises ou européennes. Par exemple, le don sera déductible des impôts, à hauteur de 66 % pour les citoyens résidents en France
  • Faites un don direct à l'initiative

    OU

  • Vous pouvez compenser vos émissions en achetant de manière volontaire des crédits carbone sur les marchés officiels, à hauteur de votre empreinte. Pour cela, nous avons sélectionné pour vous un ensemble de projets, pour lesquels ENERGIES 2050 n’intervient pas mais qui génère des crédits certifiés avec une forte valeur sociale et environnementale. Une partie de votre contribution à ethiCarbon® servira à l’achat de ces crédits et au financement du projet associé et vous recevrez, en retour, un certificat d’achat de ces crédits. Le reste de votre contribution est ensuite dédié au financement des projets ethiCarbon® (hors 5% de frais de fonctionnement de l'initiative). A noter que conformément aux règles relatives à l’achat de crédits carbones, votre contribution n’est pas déductible des impôts.
  • Achetez des crédits carbone sur les marchés officiels

    Et après ?

    ENERGIES 2050 garantit l’utilisation totale des fonds collectés dans la mise en œuvre des projets listés sous l’onglet « Portefeuille de projets ».

    Des rapports d’activités sur les actions menées seront partagés avec les contributeurs et régulièrement envoyés, dans une logique de transparence et de suivi et évaluation de la performance des actions menées.

    X