publications

GUIDES TO ACT #5

The challenges of climate change in the Mediterranean (2018 edition)

The Mediterranean in the new International Climate Agenda

Presentation

The Mediterranean is one of the global hotspots facing climate change with particularly pronounced impacts in the South and East of the basin, which exacerbate economic, social and environmental imbalances. The entry into force of the Paris Agreement on Climate has marked a significant step in the fight against these phenomena but poses a double challenge: the implementation of commitments, and the increasing of the ambition level which is not up to the objectives set.

This report analyses the realities of climate change in the Mediterranean basin with up-to-date information and data, and describes some of the main initiatives and actions implemented at regional level to face this issue. The Mediterranean is one of our planet’s “hotspots” regarding climate change, with impacts already particularly sensitive in countries of the South and East shores. The enhanced mobilisation of all stakeholders, Parties of the UNFCCC but also non-State actors and subnational governments, shows a raising awareness on the climate issue.

However, the ambition attached with collective and individual commitments is unanimously recognized as insufficient with regards to the realities and challenges to which we are confronted. The implementation and action also remain too scarce, sporadic and fragmented. The Mediterranean is not an exception and more than ever there is a need for setting up a common agenda for action, especially as the pace of international negotiations is too slow to reflect on the speed with which changes and alterations take place.

logo-energies-2050_300x300_202k-copie
08_INSTITUT_MED
07_FEMISE

En savoir plus

thumbnail of Report_Med-and-Climate_2018_PRESS_RELEASE

To see the press release announcing the availability of the report click here:

https://energies2050.org/download/26703/

For a Med Brief by Constantin Tsakas (Institute of the Mediterranean and FEMISE) from the report click here:

http://www.femise.org/publications/femise-med-brief-no6-limportance-daligner-les-positions-des-pays-med-sur-laccord-de-paris/

For a journalistic article AfricaPress.Paris on “COP23 and climate change: IM and FEMISE, key academic actors in the Mediterranean” click here:

https://www.africapresse.paris/COP23-et-changement-climatique-IM-et-FEMISE-acteurs-academiques-incontournables

For an interview “Med Change Makers” (text and video) by Julie Harb (St Joseph University of Beirut, Mediterranean Institute and FEMISE) on the case of Lebanon click here:

http://www.femise.org/actualites/med-change-makers-e01-julie-harb-changement-climatique-et-economie-libanaise/

For an overview of the presentation of the report at COP23 at Pavillon France, click here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4-bkt4zKjaY

Download (French)

association ENERGIES 2050 Building with us the opportunities of tomorrow
Send

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

X

publications

LES GUIDES POUR AGIR

Les défis du changement climatique en Méditerranée (édition 2018)

La Méditerranée dans le nouvel Agenda Climatique International

Présentation

La Méditerranée est l’un des points chauds mondiaux face aux changements climatiques avec des impacts particulièrement marqués au Sud et à l’Est du bassin, qui exacerbent les déséquilibres économiques, sociaux et environnementaux. L’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord de Paris sur le Climat a marqué une étape significative de la lutte contre ces phénomènes mais pose un double défi : celui de la mise en œuvre des engagements, et celui de la hausse du niveau d’ambition qui n’est pas à la hauteur des objectifs fixés.

Ce rapport présente de façon actualisée les réalités du changement climatique dans les pays du pourtour du bassin méditerranéen et les actions misent en œuvre par les parties prenantes pour répondre aux défis et aux enjeux de la lutte contre les changements climatiques. La Méditerranée fait partie des « point chauds » de notre planète et les impacts des changements climatiques y sont très prononcés et particulièrement visibles sur les pays des rives Sud et Est. La mobilisation internationale autour du climat témoigne d’une prise de conscience réelle que ce soit pour les Etats-Parties signataires de la CCNUCC ou pour les acteurs non étatiques et gouvernements infranationaux fortement mobilisés sur ces questions.

Pour autant, l’ambition des engagements collectifs et individuels sont unanimement reconnus comme très insuffisants au regard des réalités et des défis auxquels l’ensemble des pays et territoires concernés sont et seront confrontés. De plus, au-delà des engagements, la mise en œuvre et l’action restent insuffisante, fragmentée et parcellaire. La Méditerranée ne fait pas exception et plus que jamais la mise en place d’un agenda commun de l’action est indispensable d’autant que le temps des négociations internationales n’est pas le même que la rapidité avec lesquels les changements et altérations se produisent.

logo-energies-2050_300x300_202k-copie
08_INSTITUT_MED
07_FEMISE

En savoir plus

thumbnail of 2018-05-14_Communique-Presse_Rapport_Med-et-Climat

Pour voir le communiqué de presse annonçant la disponibilité du rapport cliquez ici :

http://energies2050.org/download/26579/

Pour un Med Brief de Constantin Tsakas (Institut de la Méditerranée et FEMISE) extrait du rapport cliquez ici :

http://www.femise.org/publications/femise-med-brief-no6-limportance-daligner-les-positions-des-pays-med-sur-laccord-de-paris/

Pour un article journalistique AfricaPress.Paris sur « COP23 et changement climatique : IM et FEMISE, acteurs académiques incontournables en Méditerranée » cliquez ici :

https://www.africapresse.paris/COP23-et-changement-climatique-IM-et-FEMISE-acteurs-academiques-incontournables

Pour un entretien « Med Change Makers » (texte et vidéo) de Julie Harb (Univ. St Joseph de Beirut, Institut de la Méditerranée et FEMISE) sur le cas du Liban cliquez ici :

http://www.femise.org/actualites/med-change-makers-e01-julie-harb-changement-climatique-et-economie-libanaise/

Pour un aperçu de la présentation du rapport à la COP23 au Pavillon France, cliquez ici :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4-bkt4zKjaY

Vous connecter avec vos identifiants

ou    

Vous avez oublié vos informations ?

Create Account