publications

GUIDES TO ACT #4

Challenges and opportunities of territorialisation of CDNs in Africa

Presentation

The purpose of this report is to highlight the challenges of resilient and low carbon territorial development in Africa in the context of the climate strategies defined by States under the Paris Agreement. The analysis aims to highlight the needs and opportunities for cities and other local authorities to fully play their role as indispensable partners for states to take action in the implementation of specific contributions at national level. national.

This report is based on an analysis of the abundant academic and technical literature available on the subject as well as the practical experiences gained by United Cities and Local Governments of Africa (UCLG Africa) and ENERGIES 2050 in Africa. This report is not intended to be exhaustive or to go into the technical details of the areas covered. It sets out to put into perspective the importance of cities and territories in the context of international climate negotiations, especially for the implementation of the resulting objectives, in order to take into account in a transversal way the key elements necessary for “Territorialisation of CDNs” in Africa.

This report is organized around two chapters. The first aims to provide an overview of the issues of the territorialization of NDCs on the continent, highlighting the challenges faced by cities and other sub-national African authorities and placing their role in the broader context of international negotiations. on climate change under the auspices of the UNFCCC. The place and role of cities, and more generally local governments, in climate negotiations are analyzed, as well as the urban content of NDCs in African countries. The second chapter is more “operational”. It identifies and analyzes five critical and complementary points for the implementation of a territorial strategy that can be climate-compatible and able to meet the objectives of the NDCs: governance, knowledge and awareness, the implementation of strategies integrated, financing and monitoring and reporting systems (and / or evaluation – MNV1 / M & E2).

Finally, this report emphasizes the existing window of opportunity for African communities to engage in CDN processes in order to fundamentally redefine their business models, and to promote sustainable economic and social development strategies that are both sustainable and sustainable. low carbon and which best meet the development challenges of their territories.

EN2050_logo
000_CGLUA
Download

association ENERGIES 2050 Building with us the opportunities of tomorrow
Send

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

X

publications

LES GUIDES POUR AGIR

Enjeux et opportunités de la territorialisation des CDN en Afrique

Présentation

L’objectif de ce rapport est de mettre en évidence les enjeux d’un développement territorial résilient et bas carbone en Afrique dans le contexte des stratégies climatiques définies par les États dans le cadre de l’Accord de Paris. L’analyse entend faire ressortir les besoins et les opportunités à saisir pour que les villes et autres autorités locales jouent pleinement leur rôle de partenaires incontournables des États pour le passage à l’action dans le cadre de la mise en oeuvre des Contributions déterminées au niveau national.

Ce rapport s’appuie sur une analyse de l’abondante littérature académique et technique disponible sur le sujet ainsi que sur les expériences pratiques acquises par Cités et Gouvernements Locaux Unis d’Afrique (CGLU Afrique) et ENERGIES 2050 en Afrique. Ce rapport n’a pas l’ambition d’être exhaustif ni d’entrer dans le détail technique des domaines traités. Il se propose de mettre en perspective l’importance des villes et territoires dans le contexte des négociations internationales sur le climat, notamment pour la mise en oeuvre des objectifs qui en découlent, afin de prendre en compte de façon transversale les éléments clés nécessaires à la « territorialisation des CDN » en Afrique.

Ce rapport s’articule autour de deux chapitres. Le premier vise à donner une vision d’ensemble des enjeux de la territorialisation des CDN sur le continent, en mettant en avant les défis auxquels sont confrontés les villes et autres autorités infranationales africaines et en replaçant leur rôle dans le contexte plus global des négociations internationales sur les changements climatiques sous l’égide de la CCNUCC. La place et le rôle des villes, et plus globalement des gouvernements locaux, dans les négociations climatiques sont ainsi analysés, de même que le contenu urbain des CDN des pays africains. Le second chapitre se veut plus « opérationnel ». Il identifie et analyse cinq points déterminants et complémentaires pour la mise en oeuvre d’une stratégie territoriale qui puisse être climato-compatible et à même de répondre aux objectifs des CDN : la gouvernance, la connaissance et la sensibilisation, la mise en place de stratégies intégrées, le financement et les systèmes de suivi et reporting (et/ou évaluation – MNV1 /M&E2).

Ce rapport insiste enfin sur la fenêtre d’opportunité existante pour les collectivités africaines de s’inscrire dans les processus CDN afin de redéfinir en profondeur leurs modèles de fonctionnement, et de promouvoir des stratégies de développement économique et social qui soient à la fois durables et bas carbone et qui répondent au mieux aux enjeux de développement de leurs territoires.

EN2050_logo
000_CGLUA

Vous connecter avec vos identifiants

ou    

Vous avez oublié vos informations ?

Create Account